Form 5500 · Schedule H line 2i(12) · form year 2024

Costco Wholesale Corporation

COSTCO 401K RETIREMENT PLAN · EIN 911223280 · plan number 002
$23.41
Administrative expenses paid from plan assets, per participant, as the sponsor reported, for form year 2024. The denominator is 255,058 participants with account balances.
This is line 2i(12) of Schedule H only. It excludes fees netted inside fund expense ratios and fees the employer pays directly, which are not in that line and are therefore not in this figure.
Among plans of its size — 50,000 and above participants with account balances, 122 plans in that band across the whole dataset — this plan's reported figure is between the 10th and 25th percentiles.
p10 $12.67p50 $50.76p90 $131.98

Percentiles are computed over all 52,836 qualifying plans in the form year 2024 dataset, not over the plans published here.

What the filing breaks out, and what it does not

Schedule H lineAs filed
Contract administrator feesnot reported
Investment management feesnot reported
Other administrative expenses$125,120
Not broken out into any of the lines above$5,845,090
Total administrative expenses (line 2i(12))$5,970,210

A blank line above means the sponsor did not report a figure for it, which is not the same as reporting zero. Where the named lines add up to less than the total, the difference is shown rather than left for the reader to work out.

The rest of what this filing reports

Participants with account balances255,058
Net plan assets, end of year$41,017,392,708
Employer contributions$680,725,254
Participant contributions$1,096,633,808
Late participant contributions remittednot reported

Check this against the filing

Every figure above was read from Costco Wholesale Corporation’s own Form 5500 for form year 2024, EFAST2 acknowledgement ID 20250707151535NAL0009305842001, located 2026-08-30.

Open the filing (PDF)

The line itself is on the 2024 Schedule H form at line 2i(12), Total administrative expenses. If our number and the document disagree, the document is right and we want to know.

Plans of a similar size

Same size band, nearest reported figures. Size bands are the point: a plan with a few hundred people and one with a few hundred thousand are not comparable, and putting them side by side would imply they were.

Unitedhealth Group Incorporated
$22.88 per participant
263,728 with balances
Edward D. Jones & Co., L.p.
$22.13 per participant
56,268 with balances
Starbucks Corporation
$22.10 per participant
163,838 with balances
The Cigna Group
$24.98 per participant
88,184 with balances
The Kroger Co.
$21.63 per participant
149,880 with balances
Thermo Fisher Scientific INC.
$27.38 per participant
68,375 with balances

← Look up another employer