Form 5500 · Schedule H line 2i(12) · form year 2024

International Business Machines Corporation

IBM 401(K) PLAN · EIN 130871985 · plan number 005
$244.42
Administrative expenses paid from plan assets, per participant, as the sponsor reported, for form year 2024. The denominator is 147,543 participants with account balances.
This is line 2i(12) of Schedule H only. It excludes fees netted inside fund expense ratios and fees the employer pays directly, which are not in that line and are therefore not in this figure.
Among plans of its size — 50,000 and above participants with account balances, 122 plans in that band across the whole dataset — this plan's reported figure is at or above the 90th percentile.
p10 $12.67p50 $50.76p90 $131.98

Percentiles are computed over all 52,836 qualifying plans in the form year 2024 dataset, not over the plans published here.

What the filing breaks out, and what it does not

Schedule H lineAs filed
Contract administrator feesnot reported
Investment management fees$29,912,272
Other administrative expenses$4,537,519
Not broken out into any of the lines above$1,612,706
Total administrative expenses (line 2i(12))$36,062,497

A blank line above means the sponsor did not report a figure for it, which is not the same as reporting zero. Where the named lines add up to less than the total, the difference is shown rather than left for the reader to work out.

The rest of what this filing reports

Participants with account balances147,543
Net plan assets, end of year$59,358,554,739
Employer contributionsnot reported
Participant contributions$940,757,089
Late participant contributions remittednot reported

Check this against the filing

Every figure above was read from International Business Machines Corporation’s own Form 5500 for form year 2024, EFAST2 acknowledgement ID 20250718120137NAL0000793987001, located 2026-08-30.

Open the filing (PDF)

The line itself is on the 2024 Schedule H form at line 2i(12), Total administrative expenses. If our number and the document disagree, the document is right and we want to know.

Plans of a similar size

Same size band, nearest reported figures. Size bands are the point: a plan with a few hundred people and one with a few hundred thousand are not comparable, and putting them side by side would imply they were.

Morgan Stanley Domestic Holdings, LLC
$220.71 per participant
77,339 with balances
Capital One Financial Corporation
$207.43 per participant
68,883 with balances
Cvs Health Corporation
$190.19 per participant
230,636 with balances
Microsoft Corporation
$181.46 per participant
177,887 with balances
Citigroup INC.
$174.13 per participant
117,203 with balances
Pfizer INC
$165.19 per participant
57,024 with balances

← Look up another employer